Can you freeze canola oil?

Canola oil should be stored in a cool, dark place in a tightly sealed container. ... Freezing canola oil isn't recommended, as it won't extend the shelf life beyond a year. Freezing will also make it go rancid much more quickly after the oil thaws out.