How do you know if okra is done?

Picking okra should be done when the pods are 2 to 3 inches long. If you leave them too long, the pods get hard and woody. Once you're done picking okra, store them in plastic bags in your refrigerator where they will last about a week, or freeze the pods if you have too much to use.