Did richard nixon resign from presidency?

Nixon faced a impeachment conviction by the senate. It is reported that when Barry Goldwater went to the White House, and Nixon asked him how many Senators supported him, Goldwater told Nixon how many Senators he could count on, and that Goldwater was not amongst them, Nixon quit the next day.