Is timbuktu a country?

Timbuktu is not a country. It is a city in the western African country of Mali, historically important as a trading post on the trans-Saharan caravan route and as a centre of Islamic culture. It is located on the southern edge of the Sahara, about 8 miles north of the Niger River.