How fast can a locomotive go?

This depends on your definition of "rail". The world record is held by France's TGV (Train à Grande Vitesse) which hit a top speed of 574.8 km per hour (357.2 mph). However, Japan's maglev L0 Series hit 603 km per hour (375 mph) on a magnetic-levitation track.