What does salmonella come from?

Most Salmonella infections come from ingesting food that has been tainted by fecal matter of an infected person or animal. Salmonella can also live on the skin of reptiles and be passed to a person who handles them. Proper hand washing and cooking foods to safe temperatures can prevent illness.