Is aldi's and trader joe's the same company?

In short, yes and no. Aldi Nord owns Trader Joe’s in the States, but the Aldi stores that you see in the States are run by Aldi Süd, which is separate from Trader Joe’s. But the stores are run entirely independently with no joint ownership