What is popland fabric?

Poplin, also called tabinet, is a fine, but thick, wool, cotton or silk fabric that has a horizontal warp and a vertical weft. Nowadays, it is a strong fabric in a plain weave of any fiber or blend, with crosswise ribs that typically gives a corded surface.