Where did the memphis grizzlies originate?

They started life in 1995 as the Vancouver Grizzlies, but relocated to Memphis in 2001.

---

The team was originally established as the Vancouver Grizzlies in the city of Vancouver, Canada, an expansion team that joined the NBA for the 1995–96 season. After the 2000–01 season concluded, the Grizzlies left Vancouver and moved to Memphis.