Do you have to refrigerate apple butter?

No, if sealed in an air tight container apple butter is good for about 2 weeks in the cupboard, for that matter any butter has a cupboard life of about 2 weeks properly sealed per some food experts. But it's best flavor will be from the fridge, and it can keep in the fridge for up to 10 -12 months.