How far back does recorded history go?

The span of recorded history is roughly 5,000 years, beginning with the Sumerian cuneiform script, with the oldest coherent texts from about 2600 BC. Ancient history covers all continents inhabited by humans in the period 3000 BC – AD 500.

---

Recorded history goes back roughly 5,000 years, to the ancient Sumerians. Their cuneiform texts are the oldest records we have of man's history on earth.