What's the difference between all purpose flour and whole wheat flour?

All purpose flour is more refined and thrrefore less nutritious.

---

Whole-wheat flour is made from hard red spring or winter wheat, which has a bold, nutty, hearty taste. All three layers of the wheat berries, including the bran, germ, and endosperm are ground to make whole-wheat flour. All-purpose flour is made from only the endosperm portion of the wheat grain.