How does a tooth get loose?

This can be caused by habitual grinding or clenching the teeth. The most frequent cause in adults for loose teeth is secondary trauma from periodontal disease. Bacterial plaque built up on teeth from poor oral hygiene causes a chronic infection that eventually weakens gum attachment to the teeth.