What is new netherlands?

New Netherland was a 17th-century colony of the Dutch Republic that was located on the northeast coast of North America. The Dutch claimed and settled areas that are now part of New York, New Jersey, Delaware, and Connecticut, with small outposts in Pennsylvania and Rhode Island.