What's the april fool's day story?

Some historians say that April Fools’ Day started in 1582 when France switched from the Julian to Gregorian calendar. Those who were slow to get the news and continued to celebrate end of the year during the last week of March through April 1 became the butt of jokes and were called “April fools.”