What are mechanical bees?

Harvard University researchers introduced the first RoboBees in 2013. At the time, the bee-size robots could only fly and hover midair when tethered to a power source, but they've advanced since then. Today, the RoboBees can also stick to surfaces, swim underwater, and dive in and out of water.