What was the first animal that ever existed?

The evolutionary history of the comb jelly has revealed surprising clues about Earth's first animal. Earth's first animal was the ocean-drifting comb jelly, not the simple sponge, according to a new find that has shocked scientists who didn't imagine the earliest critter could be so complex.