What are the dead horses in harry potter?

In the Harry Potter books and movies, thestrals are a mysterious breed of winged horses; they can only be seen by those who have witnessed death (and fully processed it). These creatures have skeletal bodies, bat-like wings and white eyes that lack pupils.