How far apart are studs in a house?

In modern construction, wall studs are usually either 16 or 24" apart. For exterior walls or load-bearing walls, studs are usually 16" apart. When the wall is interior &not load-bearing, it is ok to have studs 24 inches apart. Typically studs are made out of 2-by-4 or 2-by-6 boards. Reference.com