Is the union the north or the south?

In the American Civil War, the Union, typically known as the North, was composed of the U.S. states that were loyal to the U.S. federal government. Altogether, it included 20 free states and 5 border states. The Union was dedicated to the defeat and termination of the Confederate States of America.