Do hurricanes cause tornadoes?

Yes. Hurricanes, also know as typhoons and tropical cyclones, are powerful low pressure storms. They produce strong winds, dangerous storm surge flooding, and heavy rainfall that can lead to inland flooding, tornadoes, and rip currents.