How long does red wine need to breathe?

Young red wine, under eight years old, need one to two hours to aerate or breathe. Older, mature red wines over eight years old are mellow and only need about thirty minutes if at all.

---

The time required for a bottle of wine to breathe depends on the age of the wine. It is recommended that young wines be given an hour to aerate where as aerating a mature wine for too long can actually ruin the flavor.