How many presidents were slaveowners?

12 presidents were slave owners during their lifetimes. The slave-owning presidents include George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, William Harrison, John Tyler, James Polk, Zachary Taylor, Andrew Johnson and Ulysses S. Grant.