Where did the phrase bought the farm come from?

Bought the farm means to die in an accident or military action. It comes from the 20th century military forces. soldiers would refer to a person who has died or been killed in action The specific mention of a farm is referring to if a jet crashes on a farmers land the farmer can sue for compensation