What does scratch mean in golf?

According to Independent Golf Reviews, a scratch golfer is generally defined as a person who has a 0.0 or better handicap, or often shoots around even par. If you've spent enough time around the golf course or driving range, you've likely seen some scratch golfers.

---

According to the USGA, a scratch golfer is "a player who can play to a Course Handicap of zero on any and all rated golf courses..."