What is the difference between arrowroot and cream of tartar?

arrowroot is a powder used to thicken or add volume to desserts like custard and pudding, it's a common substitute for corn starch. Cream of Tartar is a byproduct of making wine. a crystaline acid is formed in the process then scraped from the barrels, purified, and turned to powder.