What does it mean when a dogs nose is running?

Dust,smoke,incense,perfume and cleaning products, are among the types of environmental irritants that can cause nasal discharge. Allergies to pollen,mold, etc. may also be to blame. In general, upper respiratory infections and over activity are among the most common reasons a dog’s nose will run.

---

Allergies. If there's a clear nasal discharge from your dog's nose, chances are good it's caused by allergies, by far the most common reason for abnormal nasal secretions in dogs. Just like people, dogs can be allergic to pollens, foods, drugs, mites, spores, and chemicals.