What does it mean when a dogs nose is running?

Allergies. If there's a clear nasal discharge from your dog's nose, chances are good it's caused by allergies, by far the most common reason for abnormal nasal secretions in dogs. Just like people, dogs can be allergic to pollens, foods, drugs, mites, spores, and chemicals.