What makes a casserole a casserole?

In the United States and continental Europe, casseroles usually consist of: pieces of meat (such as chicken or ground meat) or fish (such as tuna), various chopped vegetables, a starchy binder (such as flour, rice, potato or pasta), and often a crunchy or cheesy topping.