When is the hottest point in the day?

The hottest time of the day is around 3 p.m. Heat continues building up after noon, when the sun is highest in the sky, as long as more heat is arriving at the earth than leaving. Sometimes the hottest time is earlier because a weather system moves in with cool air early in the day.