Why do people blink their eyes?

Humans blink to spread tear fluid across the eyeball and keep it wet. If your eyeballs dry out, they can be damaged more easily - plus they start hurting when they're dry. You also blink if you get something into your eye to wash it out, or if something comes too close to protect your eyes.