Why does butter melt?

Butter melts at 90-95°F; however, there is no set point for butter to solidify because of its complexity. The exact fat/fatty acid composition is not the same from product to product. Butter will usually solidify around 60-65°F. All substances have melting & solidifying points, including butter.