Why do bananas get bruises?

Ethylene is a hormone found in the peel of the fully developed banana. It is responsible for modifying the taste, color, texture, and softening of fruit. When left uneaten, the ripening process will continue until the banana takes on a “bruised" appearance and eventually turns black.