Why is the south called dixie land?

On theory for the term Dixie Land comes from the Mason-Dixon line, which split the slave-holding states from the northern states. Another theory claims it comes from the $10 notes from the Citizen's Bank of New Orleans, which had "dix" ("ten") printed on one side.