How did the rat pack get their name?

The name "Rat Pack" was first used to refer to a group of friends in New York and several explanations have been offered for the name. In one version, Lauren Bacall saw her husband Humphrey Bogart and his friends returning from a night in Las Vegas and said, "You look like a darn rat pack."