How many innings are there in ice hockey?

In a game of ice hockey does not have innings. It is divided into 3 periods of 20 minutes each with two 15 minute intermissions in-between the periods. If the game is tied at the end of three periods in the regular season, it is followed by a 5 minute overtime and then (possibly) a shootout.

---

A standard ice hockey game consists of three, 20 minute periods in regulation. If the game is tied after regulation, the game moves to a five-minute, sudden-death overtime where the first goal wins. If the game remains tied after overtime, a shootout is held until a winner is determined.