What is the weight of one gallon of gasoline?

Due to all of the additives, it is not possible to give an exact weight of gasoline or even its density. In the USA a gallon of gasoline roughly weighs 6.073 pounds per gallon. Unleaded gasoline roughly weights 6.216 pounds per gallon.

---

about 6.3 pounds It seems impossible that a gallon of gasoline, which weighs about 6.3 pounds, could produce 20 pounds of carbon dioxide (CO2) when burned. However, most of the weight of the CO2 doesn't come from the gasoline itself, but the oxygen in the air.