Where does vanilla flavoring come from?

Traditionally, vanilla flavoring was extracted from the vanilla bean. The main component responsible for flavor in vanilla is vanillin, which can be synthetically created from a variety of items. Some sources of vanillin include coal tar, paper waste, and pine bark.