How are the pyramids formed?

According to an essay by Dr. Amy Calvert, a few hundred men sliding 2.5 ton blocks over a wet silt lubricated pathway could have brought stones from a nearby quarry to the build site in approximately 20 minutes, with an estimated 340 stones moved daily.