How do i make sweet tea?

In a saucepan bring 3 cups of water to a boil. Remove the pot from the range and place on a trivet. Add tea bags and baking soda. Steep for 5–6 minutes. Remove tea bags without squeezing. Add simple syrup and stir. Pour into a pitcher and add remaining 7 cups water. Serve over ice with lemon slices.