When do you know a mango is ripe?

Squeeze gently, a ripe mango will give slightly, indicating soft flesh inside. Use your experience with produce, such as peaches or avocados, which also become softer as they ripen. Ripe mangoes will sometimes have a fruity aroma at their stem.