How do you know when corn on the cob is done boiling?

When The kernel is soft it is done boiling and is ready to eat. If the kernel is hard, or “too firm” to eat as normal, it needs to boil a bit more. If you cannot get a kernel off the cobb to test the firmness of the kernel, it needs to boil longer.