Where is garlic come from?

Garlic is a bulbous flowering plant in the genus Allium. Its close relatives include the onion, shallot, leek, chive, Welsh onion and Chinese onion. It is native to South Asia, Central Asia and northeastern Iran and has been used as both a food seasoning and a medicine for thousands of years.