What's the difference between a drill and an impact driver?

The difference between a drill and an impact driver is power and rotational action. Unlike drills, impact drivers are made with quick release shanks that accept all one-quarter-inch hex driver bits. They also produce lots of rotational force, capable of driving the largest wood screws in seconds.