How do you sit down in minecraft?

Players can crouch using the Shift key or pressing the right joystick on a controller, however the player cannot sit.

---

The only thing you need to do is press X or type /sit to sit down or press Z or type /sleep to lie down. This however will only be visible to players who have the MorePlayerModels mod installed.