What state has the most letters in its name?

The official name for Rhode Island is actually "The State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations", which is 52 letters including spaces, or 45 without. North and South Carolina both have 14 letters counting spaces, or 13 without, which would make them a three way tie with Massachusetts.