How does ariana grande do whistle tones?

The vocal chords vibrate freely along the entire length in the chest and head register only a short section of the vocal cords vibrate in the whistle register It's not just this vibration that produces the whistle sound though Air pressure matters too similar to when you blow into a literal whistle