What is the fastest time someone has run one mile?

The world record time to run 1 mile on a flat course, is held by Hicham El Guerrouj. In 1974, he ran one mile in the Olympic Stadium of Rome Italy, in 3 minutes, 43.13 seconds. A few runners have covered the distance quicker, but were running downhill.