What did the southern ocean used to be called?

The Southern Ocean, also known as the Antarctic Ocean or the Austral Ocean is comprised of the most southern ocean water of the world and surrounds Antarctica.The Southern Ocean extends from the coast of Antarctica north to 60 degrees south latitude.It covers approximately 4% of the Earth's surface.