What is the meaning of catapult?

It is a mechanism for forcefully propelling stones, spears, or other projectiles, in use mainly as a military weapon since ancient times. The ancient Greeks and Romans used a heavy crossbow-like weapon known as a ballista to shoot arrows and darts as well as stones at enemy soldiers.