What is a bit in currency?

A bit is 1/8 of a dollar or 12.5 cents. You can figure that out from context too. 2 bits, 4 bits, 6 bits, a dollar. In sequence that means they are describing 25 cents, 50 cents, 75 cents, a dollar.